in ,

Two Former Oklahoma State Wrestlers to be Inducted into National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Article provided by Oklahoma State Sports Information

STILLWATER – Former Oklahoma State wrestlers Coleman Scott and Tadaaki Hatta are set to be inducted into the National Wrestling Hall of Fame as part of the Class of 2024, the NWHOF announced Monday.

Scott was a tremendous wrestler for Oklahoma State from 2005-08, compiling a career record of 120-24. He earned All-America honors in each of his four seasons in Stillwater, one of just 15 Cowboys to ever do so, and played a vital role in OSU’s team titles in 2005 and 2006. As a freshman, Scott placed eighth at the NCAA Championships at 125 pounds and is currently one of five Cowboys to become an All-American in their true freshman season since 1978. Scott bumped up weight class to 133 pounds as a junior and was a national finalist before completing the job as a senior to claim his first NCAA title. He was also a two-time conference champion with individual titles as a freshman and sophomore.

Perhaps the most notable achievement of his career, Scott won a bronze medal at the 2012 London Olympics, the 16th Olympic medal won by a Cowboy. He defeated South Korea’s Lee Seung-Chul and Georgia’s Malkhaz Zarkua before falling to eventual gold medalist Toghrul Asgarov, but fired back win a 3-1 victory over Kenichi Yumoto of Japan to claim the medal.

Scott spent the last eight years as head coach at North Carolina, but returned to Stillwater as associate head coach in August. While at UNC, Scott guided the Tar Heels to a 75-49 overall dual record, the second-best winning percentage in program history (60.5%), and coached 16 All-Americans, nine individual conference champions and two NCAA individual titles.

“It is an honor to be inducted into the National Wrestling Hall of Fame,” Scott said. “I haven’t ever thought this would be a reality. I wouldn’t be here without all of my family, coaches and mentors!”

Hatta wrestled for the Cowboys from 1964-66 after arriving in the United States from Tokyo, Japan in 1961. He put together a 36-8 career record for OSU, including a perfect 12-0 junior season, which was capped off by an NCAA title at 115 pounds. Hatta also finished third at NCAAs as a senior and was a part of national championship teams in 1964 and 1966, while also claiming 115-pound Big Eight championships in his final two years.

Following his wrestling career, Hatta taught and coached at every level, from youth clubs to the Olympics. He was on the U.S. men’s freestyle coaching staff for the Olympics in 1988, 1992 and 1996, as well as the World Championships from 1975 to 1995. Hatta served his home country as a coach on the Japanese Olympic team in 1968 and 1984 and also coached on the 1972 Mexican Olympic team. He also spent time helping grow women’s wrestling, coaching on the U.S. Women’s team for the 2004 Olympics, the first Olympics to include women’s wrestling, and returned to the 2008 Olympics as volunteer head coach of the United States team.

In 2019, Hatta received the Gallagher Award from Oklahoma State wrestling, which is the highest honor an OSU alumnus can earn from the Cowboy wrestling program for their dedication to the sport of wrestling after the end of their college career. Additionally, he was recognized as a Distinguished Alumni by the Oklahoma State College of Arts and Sciences last year.

Both Cowboys will be inducted as Distinguished Members, which can be awarded to a wrestler who has achieved extraordinary success in national and/or international competition; a coach who has demonstrated great leadership in the profession and has compiled an outstanding record; or a contributor whose long-term activities have substantially enhanced the development and advancement of the sports.

Former Cowboy Jimmy Jackson was the most recent OSU wrestler to receive the honor as a Distinguished Member as part of the Class of 2023.

The pair will be inducted alongside Distinguished Members Toccara Montgomery and Logan Stieber, Meritorious Official honoree J.R. Johnson, Order of Merit recipient Darryl Miller, Medal of Courage recipient Jonathan Koch and Outstanding American honoree Steve Banach. The induction ceremony will be held at the 47th Honors Weekend on May 31 and June 1, 2024, at the National Wrestling Hall of Fame in Stillwater.

What do you think?

64 points
Upvote Downvote

Leave a Reply