in ,


Battle for the Belt

No program is immune to the challenges presented by Covid but the struggles for small schools are even more evident as schedules tighten and tournaments limit team entry numbers. 

Smaller programs, Women’s teams, and JV programs have been left scrambling to get the season going.  Fortunately this weekend, Tulsa Battle for the Belt opened an 18U division to provide an opportunity for high school wrestlers to get back on the mat.  In addition to Oklahoma, teams from Arkansas, Kansas, Illinois, Iowa, California, Colorado, and New Jersey brought wrestlers to Tulsa to compete. The event was live on FLO Wrestling which families appreciate due to attendance caps and health concerns due to Covid.

The top three men’s 18U teams were: Vian 73, Sterling CO 45, Jay 42.

Vian’s victory  was anchored by seniors Braylen Rodgers, Cruz Partain and Dil’n Murchison.  Rodgers won the tournament in both 120 and 126 with falls over James Clack of Skiatook and Canyon Curtis of Team Tulsa and a 3-1 decision of Dustin Duran of Jay.  Partain took the 220 bracket with a first period pin of Connor Dicarlo of Salina. Murchison finished 3rd pinning Berryhill’s Blake Postoak in the first after a first round loss to Dicarlo. 

Jay also had a strong showing with three wrestlers placing. Dustin Duran was second at 126. At 285 Senior Johnny Williamson placed second after being sent to the consolation bracket by pin from the eventual winner Marquonn Journey of Choctaw in the semi finals.  Williamson battled back through the backside to challenge Benjamin Tokanong of Hardy AR for second.  Williamson won that match by pin in the second period.  The last of Jay’s competitors was Kayden Murray who placed third at 160.

In the men’s 18U Okie belt winners were: Christopher Wohrley of Oklahoma City at 145lbs, Jay Porter of Sapulpa (Scissortail Wrestling Club) at 182lb, and and Marquonn Journey who pinned his way to the finals at 285lb over Issac Mcnac of Henryetta, Williamson of Jay, and Tyler Rich of Skiatook.  Wohrley made his way to the top of the podium by a major decision (14-2)over Kyler Tabor of Tulsa, first period pin of Dylan Bain of Henryetta and a 2-0 win over John Moores of Broken Arrow. Porter won two bouts by decision  2-0 over Quan Minor of Tulsa of Blue T and 8-7 over Luke Brooks of Poteau.  A full list of placings is at the bottom of this article.

On the ladies side of 18U,  Broken Arrow 141, Jay 104, Hurricane (Bixby) 34 took the top three team spots.  In a decisive win for  Broken Arrow,  Allison Hynes 118lb, Aralease Callahan 112lb, Caleigh Heitgrass 127lb, and Oliva Brown HWT  pinned their way to the championship belt, with KiEisha Cathey 185lb winning two matches by pin and one by decision on her way to the top of the podium. Other Broken Arrow placers were:Mckenna Canby 2nd 118lbs, Soraya Adibi 2nd 161lb, Tiara Revan 3rd 112lb, Skyla Walker 4th 185lbs.

Jay’s Lillian Gough placed first in both the 136 and 147lb bracket. Gough won all of the lighter bracket by pin and two of three in the latter by pin. Hurricane placed Emma Thompson at the top of the podium all wins by fall.  Emma Wissman of Tulsa’s Lady Outlaws won all matches by pin in the 107lb bracket. That only left the 100 bracket to Iowa’s Reana Utterback.

Men’s 18U Placings

Anthony Isek (Black Fox Elite)
Gerald Harris III (HWA)
Izaiah Furra (BTP)
Emma Wissman (Lady outlaws)
Sebastian Ortega (Vernon Wrestling Club)
Christian Garcia (Vernon Wrestling Club)
Braylen Rogers (Vian wrestling club)
Canyon Curtis (TT)
Braylen Rogers (Vian wrestling club)
Dustin Duran (JWC)
Gage Nolan (HWA)
James Clack (Skiatook Bulldog Wrestling)
Seth Marick (Sterling Tigers)
Trevor Freeman (Bristow Youth Wrestling)
Seth Marick (Sterling Tigers)
Isaac Xiong (Dark Cloud Wrestling Club)
Trevor Freeman (Bristow Youth Wrestling)
Christopher Wohrley (NGC)
John Moores (BRAR)
Kyler Tabor (BWC)
Dylan Bain (HKWC)
Kylan Montgomery (Team Mascoutah WC)
Riley Bornhoft (Sterling Tigers)
Andrew Czelusta (Vernon Wrestling Club)
Mason Parker (NLWA)
Adam Thebeau (Bull Trained)
Austin Nekvapil (Best Trained Texas (M))
Kaden Murray (JWC)
Matthan Mason (BTP)
Dominic Thebeau (Bull Trained)
Diego Falcon (STFT)
Aiden Zook (IAWC)
Dominic Thebeau (Bull Trained)
Caleb Rogers (RAW)
Diego Falcon (STFT)
Aiden Zook (IAWC)
Connor DiCarlo (SWC
Cruz Partain (Vian wrestling club)
Connor DiCarlo (SWC)
Dil’n Murchison (Vian wrestling club)
Blake Postoak (BWC)
Marquonn Journey (Team Journey)
Johnny Williamson (JWC)
Tyler Rich (Skiatook)
Benjamin Tokanong (Indiv)

Women’s 18U Placings

Reanah Utterback (SBLT)
Kelsey Chapman (ReZults Wrestling)
Jacie Moffett (JHS)
Emma Wissman (Lady outlaws)
Carmie Johnson (JHS)
Destiny Jones (Skiatook)
Zoey Sparks (Dark Cloud Wrestling Club)
Aralease Callahan (B.A.G)
Nevaeh Tagg (JHS)
Tiara Revan (B.A.G)
Evie Hernandez (Vernon Wrestling Club
Allison Hynes (B.A.G)
McKenna Canby (B.A.G)
Skyler Owens (Morris Wrestling Association)
Mia Hannah (WRHS)
Caleigh Heitgrass (B.A.G)
Samara Shepherd (Vernon Wrestling Club)
Lillian Gough (JHS)
Ciara Franco-Shrum (JHS)
Rylin Beatty (GHW)
Lillian Gough (JHS)
Ciara Franco-Shrum (JHS)
Rylin Beatty (GHW)
Emma Thompson (HWA)
Soraya Adibi (B.A.G)
Natalia Reyes (JHS)
Cicily Wadsworth (B.A.G)
KiEisha Cathey (B.A.G)
Sidney Milligan (HWA)
Alexis Glover (JHS)
Skyla Walker (B.A.G)
Olivia Brown (B.A.G)
Tanika Anderson (WRHS)

What do you think?

66 points
Upvote Downvote

Leave a Reply