Central Oklahoma Dominates Dan Harris Open

Coach Todd Steidly and his #4 Ranked Central Oklahoma Team in NCAA Division II opened its season with a dominating performance at the Dan Harris Open at Baker University in Baldwin City, Kansas on Saturday, November 6th with placing 17 wrestlers in the Top 4 in each weight class.  Although there was no team scoring, there were simply no other teams that even came close to matching the winning formula the Broncos brought with them to Kansas.  Winning was contagious with the Broncos team, as the managed to win six titles with Paxton Rosen at 125, Nate Keim at 141, Brik Filippo at 149, Gabe Johnson at 157, and Alex Kauffman at 184, while Braden Morgan and Judson Rowland were named Co-Champions at 285 lbs after both reached the finals.  Hereto, as further case in point on just how dominating the Broncos were, they finished the tournament with a 91 and 32 record for the day and recorded 46 bonus-point wins. 

Three featured matches in the championship finals pitted All-Americans from Central Oklahoma versus Junior College All-Americans, one from Pratt and two from NEO.  

It started with 125 lbs Paxton Rosen a 6th place Division II All-American vs Pratt’s Jason Henschel a NJCAA Runner-Up.  Rosen, a Junior downed Henschel 4-1 scoring a first-period take down before adding an escape and riding time point.

Brik Fillippo, 149 lbs for Central Oklahoma simply dominated his opponents throughout the entire tournament before claiming a gold medal with a 4-2 triumph over NEO’s Dylan Brown and Returning 4th place Junior college All-American.  Filippo’s first-period take down was the deciding difference.  

Tanner Cole, a Junior and 3rd Place All-American from Central Oklahoma at 133 ran into a Junior College All-American buzz saw in Dalen Moore from NEO and dropped a tough 7 to 6 title match after falling behind 6 to 3 after two periods and tied it with an escape and take down in the final period.  But Moore managed to escape in the final minute to earn the winning point.         

NEO (Northeaster Oklahoma) and Pratt Community College both powers at 2 year colleges showed they better not be taken lightly as they can compete against four-years schools as well.  In doing so, NEO crowned 2 champions in Dalen Moore, a Sophomore from Carthage, Mo at 133 lbs and Seth Seago, a Sophomore from Claremore, Oklahoma along with placing 5 others who finished in the top four of their weight class.  Pratt was just as successful finishing with 3 Runner-Ups  in Jason Henschel, a Sophomore from Goddard at 125, Scott Radke, Sophomore from McPherson at 165, and Destin Miller, Sophomore from Ark City at 184, all home grown wrestlers from the State of Kansas.   

Head Coach James Reynolds and his Drury University Panthers out of Sprinfield, Missouri in only their 6th year of wrestling managed to make some noise of its own with Will Kuster, a Freshman out of Jefferson City, Missouri winning a championship title in the 165 pound division and the Panthers taking a pair of second-place finishes and a third-place finish.      

Head Coach Cody Garcia and his Baker University wrestling team meanwhile proved to be the perfect host school, crowning a champion in Isaiah Luelllen at 174 lbs along with 2 bronze medalist and two fourth place finishers.  

University of St. Mary was the only other school to have a wrestler reached the top four in their respective weight class with having Patrick Boulanger a Senior at 174 lbs earning a third place finish.   

   Championship Finals
125 – Paxton Rosen, UCO, dec. Jason Henschel, Pratt, 4-1.
133 – Dalen Moore, NEO, dec. Tanner Cole, UCO, 7-6.
141 – Nate Keim, UCO, dec. Peter Kuster, Drury, 4-3.
149 – Brik Filippo, UCO, dec. Dylan Brown, NEO, 4-2.
157 – Gabe Johnson, UCO, dec. Zach Porter, Unattached, 6-5.

165 – Will Kuster, Drury major dec. Scott Radke, Pratt 10-1.

174 – Isaiah Luellen, Baker dec Tucker Gaswell, Drury 5-0.
184 – Alex Kauffman, UCO, major dec. Deston Miller, Pratt, 14-3.

197 – Seth Sego, NEO dec Seth Sarasua, NEO, 4-3.
Hvy – Braden Morgan, UCO, by medical forfeit over Judson Rowland, UCO.
Consolation Finals
125 – Studd Morris, UCO, by medical forfeit over Garrett Steidley, UCO.

133 – Elijah Reece, Neosho dec Byayden Morrill, Baker, 6-5.
141 – Peter Rolle, UCO, dec. Von Gray, UCO, 5-0.
149 – Dallas Koelzer, Baker, dec. Kobi Gomez, UCO, 7-3.

157 – Trevor Christian, Drury, dec Gunnar Bradley, NEO, 5-3.
165 – Anthony DesVigne, UCO, dec. Hunter Jump, UCO, 4-3.

174 – Patrick Boulanger, St. Mary dec Ethan Smith, Drury, 7-2.

184 – Jackson White, NEO dec Brett Bober, Baker, 5-3.
197 – Emmanuel Skillings, UCO, dec. Malachi Karibo, Baker, 6-3.
Hvy – Dan Baker, NEO, pinned Christian Arriola, UCO, 1:12. 

What do you think?


Leave a Reply